Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:23 p.m. - Monday, Aug. 15, 2011
Dialysis
I saw him from across the room and quickly averted my eyes, shifting uncomfortably. I didn't talk to him much during the 3 years we sat in the same classes together, so why talk now? I stared at the floor, contemplating my isolationism. I glanced up a moment too soon. He saw me. And walked towards me. And hugged me. I struggled through small talk . . .how was he, what was he doing now . . .He was getting something to eat before his weekly dialysis sessions. Wait, what? Yeah, he had been getting dialysis since senior year, didn't I know? No, I really didn't.

And this is what happens when you lower your eyes to the ground. When you are too afraid to open your heart to others . . .you shut them out, and you do not see them. You do not hear them. They become less, because you are less . . .

Open up, lady. Open up.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!