Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:23 p.m. - Thursday, Jul. 29, 2010
The Suicide of Lee
She and I used to go out to local schools to do presentations on saving money. We were an amazing duo. She was so great with the teachers. She would set up tours with the bank and she was a hit with the parents. I was great with the kids. I developed a lot of the creative elements of the presentations and I led the tours. We loved this element of our job and it was one of the many ways we connected as friends.

During one of our presentations, we were standing at the front of the classroom with the kids seated on the floor in front of us. She had a mint in her mouth. At one point, she was talking - and the mint flew out of her mouth and landed right in front of this little boy. She stopped mid-sentence and the boy just stared at the mint on the floor with his mouth hanging open. We almost couldn't keep it together. I started rambling - just trying to keep her from laughing hysterically. I laugh so hard my stomach hurts every single time I think about this moment. I'm laughing now.

We shared moments like that. Uncontrollable laughter. Laughter I haven't experienced in 10 years. She made me feel something. She made me feel normal.

She helped steal a quarter of a million dollars from innocent people. And all for profit of only $9,000. She sold her soul for chump change. And they caught her. Her life will never be the same. And I feel such pain. For her . . and for me.

I've experienced the suicide of two friends in my lifetime.

This feels like a third.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!