Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:21 p.m. - Friday, Oct. 5, 2012
Story #5
Stillness hurts. I mean, it physically hurts. Sometimes in the car, where I'm forced to be still, I start to feel shooting pains in my arms and legs and back . . .Sometimes I pinch at my sides in a futile attempt to massage the cramp away. Until I started doing yoga, I never realized how much tension I walk around with everyday. I carry it in my shoulders and my limbs . . .I function in a constant state of defense. This story is about the release of tension.

I arrived on the mat in disarray. Nervous to be in a new class of veteren yogis. Long week at work. Thinking about the vegan brownle I wanted to eat as soon as this class was over. I powered through the sun salutations . . .mindless. We were going to fold into half moon next. I loved this pose. I love balancing postures and hip openers. So half moon is like a two-for-one. I leaned over on one leg, the other held in suspension behind me, and reached for the floor. I wasn't ready. Too scattered. Too unfocused. I wobbled unsteadily and fell out. I tried again . . .still wobbling. I felt his hand on my hip. Gentle, steady, strong. Not holding me up . . .just there so I knew I wouldn't fall. I relaxed. I felt the tension melt off my shoulders, down my back, through my grounded leg, and into the floor. Peace.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!