Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:32 p.m. - Saturday, Sept. 17, 2011
Where I'm From
I am from the cherry blossom trees, pink petals floating down like snow and a crown of flowers in her hair . . .

. . .from Flynn & O�Hara and Playmobil.

I lived in the cookie-cutter red brick houses, and the names sketched into the concrete sidewalks.

I am from Dad�s spaghetti sauce, Mom�s crock pot, and Grum�s potatoes . . .

. . .from the top browned to perfection and never complete without the cherries, an entire day�s work consumed in an afternoon.

I am from St. Patrick . . .

. . .from red candles burning, from �Ave Maria, gratia plena,� and legs dangling from the organ bench.

I am from swimming pools in the driveway and pirate ships in the backyard.

I am from mourning doves, record players, attic fans, boats on the Delaware, and endless rolls of contact paper.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!