Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:28 p.m. - Tuesday, May. 24, 2011
The Fix-It Man
I scanned the room, searching for a place to blend in that wasn�t already adult-occupied. I spotted a small group in the corner playing with plastic pipe-blocks. I hunkered down in one of the empty miniature chairs and dove into the block bucket. �What�s happening here?� I asked as I clumsily connected a blue and purple pipe-block . . .my awkward attempt to play. �We�re playing the marble game!� offered one pre-schooler. �No, we�re playing the WATER game!� her friend corrected. The argument went on for a couple of rounds until another boy interrupted by �drilling� their creations with his makeshift tool. �I�m the Fix-It Man!� he told them. By this time I was just putting the finishing touches on my pipe trumpet. �Where�s the Fix-It Man?� I asked loudly. �I need someone to help me fix my trumpet so I can play it!� He sat down in a corner and looked at me warily . . .�I�m retired,� he said. Hm . . .ok. No time to argue � it was time to clean up and head outside.

After some time on the playground, the kids returned to work in Centers. This time I sat down at the Lego table. I chose a spot next to the Fix-It Man � apparently too close for comfort. I could see the annoyance on his face as he stood up and slowly inched his way down the table to get as far away from me as possible. A kindred spirit! I focused my attention on the Legos and the boy who was sitting across from me instead. �What are you building?� I asked him. �A rocket ship!� he said. The Fix-It Man crept over to enter the conversation � but only spoke to his friend. Their conversation turned to superheroes . . .Aqua-Man in particular. �I�ll build a house for Aqua-Man,� I told them as I stacked Legos and watched them work. I continued to build, listen, and interject in their conversation from time to time. I was just starting to add a second story to Aqua-Man�s house when I noticed the Fix-It Man getting closer to my side of the table. In one quick flash, the wall came crashing down. He leaned against me, inhibition totally dissolved, studying the house. He practically climbed into my lap as he made his Aqua-Man figurine climb up and down the stairs and walk in and out of the functional front door. �Ok guys, I gotta go!� I said. We were only allotted three hours of observation time in this particular placement. �Already?� the Fix-It Man asked with surprise . . .�We just started playing!� Tell me about it.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!