Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

5:18 p.m. - Sunday, Sept. 05, 2010
26 of 30
I work for a small United Church of Christ on Sundays. I play the piano. I'm interested in religion, but not religious. I believe in energy . . .the power of thought . . .the ability of the natural world to do what it's supposed to do. . .

I don't believe in monotheism. Nor do I particularly care for it. Although I love the prayer in Islam, the structure of the Catholic church, the hymns of the Protestant churches, and the traditions of Judaism.

This particular Sunday we had a hymn-sing. We do this when the pastor is on vacation. Someone leads the service like normal, but instead of a serman, the congregation calls out hymns and we sing them.

I find this exhilerating. I grew up Catholic, and so until I was hired at this church - I had never heard most of these hymns. We never even sang "How Great Thou Art" at St. Pat's.

I love having to play whatever wild number they throw out into the atmosphere. I love the energy of it. It makes me feel like a musician. It makes me feel like I'm really doing something that not everyone can do.

I love to hear these really familiar old songs . . .Like the Old Rugged Cross and the Church in the Wildwood. And today someone requested Joy to the World. I love an excuse to play Christmas carols out of season. Christmas carols are my favorite.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!