Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:16 p.m. - Tuesday, Aug. 17, 2010
8 of 30
He followed me out into the early evening air. Meditating with me under my chair. When the bell sounded and I opened my eyes, it still felt right to be underneath the cloudy sky. He watched the birds. I watched the birds. He stalked his prey. I read about prayer. When the light began to fail, I just breathed. When I was ready to come in, he followed me around as I opened all the windows . . .not wanting the clean air to fade. Inviting the scent of fresh August breeze inside. I fed him and did the dishes while he ate. Then I went up into the bedroom to relax in the window . . .taking in the last moments of reflected light. He sat in the window, his body against mine.

We are two of kind, him and I. He likes to be alone. Fears strangers. He swipes when he's afraid he'll be touched. Only likes to be touched on his terms. But he loves. He loves deeply. He'll sit near you, he'll brush against you once in a while. And when you're really lucky, he'll come to you. He'll surrender himself to you. He'll let you love him.

That's my boy. My Jeffrey cat.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!