Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:18 p.m. - Saturday, May. 15, 2010
Peace
Remember this day.

I lived every moment. Breathed every day. Struggled, triumphed, failed, accomplished. I was sad, angry, happy, frustrated, endlessly tired.

I did this! I have a BA in Music. Which I earned cum laude . . .while working full-time and struggling with an intense shyness that prevented me from doing this 10 years ago.

I feel amazing.

I cried as we processed by our applauding professors. I cried as they announced my name. I could barely speak a "thank you" when I shook the President's hand. I cried when they hooded me. And then I cheered with pride as I watched my fellow music majors receive their degrees.

The line I remember the most from the entire day was from the Masters degree speaker. He talked about the support of our loved ones and how they delt with us spending more time with our laptops then with our significant others.

So many nights I locked myself in my room with the computer and told him not to bother me. So many days he wanted to spend time with me and I told him I had homework, or practicing to do. So many concerts I dragged him to. So many panicked mornings before performances he dealt with. This is his day, too. I am here because of him. Literally, here, in this town. I am who I am because he is.

This has not been easy. This has been hard. Really. And I did it. I love myself right now. I love you right now. I love.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!