Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:17 p.m. - Saturday, May. 01, 2010
1.1
As you can see, I didn't die. It was fine. One more performance, and my college career is over.

I put on a pair of sweatpants and two bras . . .you know, so as not to hurt myself . . .and a tank top. I was petrified. Really. To run. I stopped walking to work a few weeks ago when darkness fell over the land. But I signed up to run a 5k in mid-June and I vowed I would run today . . .no matter what.

I just did a mile. Just to start. Such negative energy trying to swallow me up. Everyone is looking at me . . .my fat ass jiggling down the street. Wondering how this fat cow could possibly be running.

But I had to keep going. Ignore it. When I reached the midway point, I started to think differently. I can do this. I know I can do this. So let them gawk. Maybe one of them thinks they can't do this, either. And maybe when they see that I can . . .they'll think they can, too.

The last tenth of a mile was hard. It was uphill and my sides were cramping. But I sprinted down the driveway and felt every pound of my body hitting the pavement through the soles of my shoes . . .

It's amazing what one small act can do. I suddenly feel beautiful.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!