Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:10 p.m. - Monday, Apr. 26, 2010
Duo
I closed my eyes. I could feel the vibrations of the orchestra swelling to its final cadence. The timpani rumbling . . .How appropriately spectacular. My 60th and final concert attendance as a student here.

I left the hall for room 116. The Schumann is weakly placed upon my soul. Remembered, but not living there yet. Problems with the transitions, still. Problems with the voicing. Cheating the fingerings . . .Letting the pedal smother the mistakes. Messy.

I turned out the lights and played the Gnossienne instead. The rain pounded on the window panes . . .and the lightning flashed. How dramatic. As if the Universe was inside my head. As if I was controlling the weather with my piano.

I have loved this time and place. And I have loved it while I was living it . . .which is so rare.

I left the practice room to head for home, but I forgot I had parked in a different spot and had to turn around to walk back through the building.

There he was . . .like fate planted us there. And he asked me to take over a piece he was supposed to play. I am an eternal push-over. I am an eternally bleeding heart. So I said yes. And now, I have four days to learn this music . . .fuck.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!