Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:56 a.m. - Wednesday, Dec. 30, 2009
To Thine Own Self . . .
Why did I do this? I don't predict doing anything with this useless degree. I imagine I could give piano lessons. But I could have done that all along. So I will have wasted all this aggrevation and hard work and sacrifice of time and money and even happiness . . .on a degree I will never use.

I don't have any practical skills. I can't farm or carve or build or be a plumber or an electrician . . .

I feel like I have the ability to teach others. I have patience and I love to see the potential in the people around me.

I don't want to work for something meaningless. I want to be useful. I want to do something worthwhile.

I would love to teach English as a second language. I would love to help adults earn their GEDs - or learn life skills.

I could do these things.

I'm afraid of having this degree. Because it means I will have to live up to my own potential. And while I can help foster it in others, I have hated, abused, neglected, and berated myself.

I'm not worth my own time.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!