Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:47 p.m. - Friday, Dec. 11, 2009
Rwanda Peace Project
I love Martha Stewart, but I haven't watched her show in a long time. Today, I wanted to investigate some gift ideas for family and friends and I went upstairs to use the real computer because the notebook was running so slowly. I remembered that my Love said the TV was working in that room with limited channels. I turned it on hoping to catch Ellen while I was browsing the internet. Ellen wasn't on, but Martha was.

Martha had a guest on who was the head of the Rwanda Peace Project. It's a group of over a thousand women who are weaving baskets in Rwanda to support themselves and to promote peace and unity in their country. First of all, I fell in love with the baskets. They are beautiful. So I went to Martha's website to learn more.

One story really touched my heart. A widow with two children said she was so proud to finally be able to support herself through her weaving. She said, "I don't have to accept the advances of men because of their money."

I could imagine this woman wanting to provide for her children and feeling like she was powerless. Feeling like she was trapped. Doing whatever she could to give her children the best life possible.

I felt connected to her. I know I have never struggled like she has. I don't even have children. But I have felt like I was nothing. Like I was only good to be used. And I have given myself away as an object. And occassionally for a profit.

I felt her power. Her worth. Her majesty. Her strength. And I bought a basket for her.

If you are interested in the baskets, you can find them on the Martha Stewart site and also at macys.com/rwanda.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!