Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:07 p.m. - Tuesday, Nov. 03, 2009
Call me Ishmael.
I always hated the story of Abraham. What kind of monstrous god would demand that one of his creations sacrifice another human being? And what kind of a human being would kill their own child? And why would an omniscient god need to test anyone? God knew Abraham's heart without this dramatic display of near-bloodshed. And Abraham seemed so calm. So smug. No big deal. He had sex with his wife's servant so he could have a son . . .only to have Sarah conceive anyway - and then attempt to kill that long-awaited son. And then that bitch Sarah gets jealous and sends Ishmael and his mother away . . .I don't know why these are the chosen people. These are the heathens. The jealous, the naive, the unquestioning . . .

I believe in questions . . .thoughts . . .feelings . . .compassion . . .nonviolence . . .energy . . .connection . . .

Everything a monotheistic God is not.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!